Gathering Student Voice to Inform My Teaching Practice

In Term 2, I noticed that my students’ interest and motivation for Writing was decreasing. Students seemed bored and when I said it was writing time, would respond negatively.

This prompted me to create a writing survey to help me get a better gauge on their attitude towards writing and to see how I could make it better for them.

survey

I created a Google Form for students to fill in and said they would have free reign to write what they truly felt. I had made sure that students knew I wouldn’t get upset if they admitted they didn’t like what was currently happening in class.

From this, I found out that almost all students wanted to write made up stories which prompted me to plan and implement a narrative unit in Term 3. I also found out that my students wanted to do more free writing each day. As a result, I implemented 20 minutes of free writing 3 times a week. The students responded really well to this and love it when they see ‘free writing’ or ‘writing’ on the daily timetable.

I would like to take a student survey now to compare the results and attitudes towards writing.

Leave a Reply

