Use of assessment – diagnostic

At the beginning of the year, we did our schoolwide testing in Term 1 as a diagnostic tool to see where the children were at in their learning and where possible learning gaps were.

I used the STAR test results to see the gaps in my classes learning and I used this to form my reading groups. I also used the Reading P.A.T test to see areas of focus for their reading comprehension. I then focused on the ‘gaps’ in their comprehension and used these as specific learning intentions and focuses for each guided reading session.

In maths, I used the math P.A.T to see where there were gaps in the students’ knowledge in all math strands. I also used the students’ GLOSS results to inform my teaching of number strategies I needed to teach as well as concepts. For example, I noticed from my GLOSS interviews that a lot of my class were unsure about decimal place value and how to use strategies on decimals. I then used this as the basis for my teaching in Term 1, 2 and continued to develop in Terms 3 and 4.

 

Leave a Reply

