Unit planning

In Term 3, I realised that a lot of my students were lacking in their basic structural writing skills and decided to plan a unit to meet the needs of my learners. As a syndicate, we decided our focus was to be Fairytales and I planned my unit specific for my class.

I planned specific learning experiences in a way that would scaffold them into becoming better writers. I also planned for students of all abilities and even had the school’s SENCO help me write a plan for my special needs student adapted from mine.

Here is a link to my unit plan.

I was flexible in how I taught this unit and I didn’t finish it all. I reflected as I went (on weekly writing plans) and took my time where I saw fit. I also skipped some lessons as I felt students had grasped the concepts (like descriptive words) already and felt they didn’t need extra time on it.

Leave a Reply

