Teaching Te Reo Maori

During Term 2, I taught the non-kapa haka group a Te Reo unit: Taku akomanga – my classroom.

To prepare for this, I looked at the motivation for my students – they weren’t interested in doing lots of book work, and I thought this wouldn’t be very engaging anyway. I used the He Reo Tupu Maori document as a guide to plan this unit and found engaging resources to help with this such as: flash cards to play games with (snap, go fish, memory), bingo cards.

I chose these activities because they’re highly motivating for students and knew they would be more likely to take the learning on board because of the engaging context.

Leave a Reply

