My Teaching Inquiry

At the end of Term 1, 2016, I begun to narrow down my teaching inquiry from our PD along with the Hongoeka Syndicate.

Our syndicate focus is based on the question: What are the effects on performance and motivation when we use a digital online forum for writing? We are particularly interested in this as students seem to be struggling with writing – generating content and creating quality texts from a range of genres. Also, the motivation and engagement of students with their writing seems to be low and this is a concern for them as they begin to move into their senior education.

With Adi (my appraisal partner) and the Hongoeka syndicate, I created a Google Slide Presentation that shows the progress of my journey with my inquiry. You can view that here.

So far, my next step is to conduct the survey with my whole class to understand their current attitudes towards learning. This survey will include a handwriting sample (which I’ll use to compare with in Term 4) and asks students to describe how they feel about writing. The survey I used is this one.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

